There are no standard passenger services running today - The next service will be on Saturday 1st February 2020 using the Blue Timetable 2020

Not long to go now until our Winter Diesel Gala, 7 – 8 February - 

Book online now and save up to 10% »

Drive a Steam Train Experience

Dates for this event

  • 21st February 2020,
  • 28th February 2020,
  • 20th March 2020,
  • 27th March 2020,
  • 24th April 2020,
  • 27th April 2020,
  • 15th May 2020,
  • 18th May 2020,
  • 1st June 2020,
  • 8th June 2020,
  • 19th June 2020,
  • 22nd June 2020,
  • 10th July 2020,
  • 17th July 2020,
  • 10th August 2020,
  • 24th August 2020,
  • 14th September 2020,
  • 25th September 2020,
  • 28th September 2020,
  • 5th October 2020,
  • 16th October 2020,
  • 26th October 2020,
  • 6th November 2020,
  • 20th November 2020
Drive a steam train 1
Drive a steam train 2

MAKE YOUR DREAM A REALITY

Become part of the crew! This full day experience will see childhood dreams realised as participants get behind the controls of the engine with time to drive, fire and guard a heritage steam train!

£449.00 per person

WHAT’S INCLUDED:

Drive a Steam Train experiences start at Bury Bolton Street Station at 8:30am and incorporate the following:

  • Safety briefing with the crew
  • Driving and firing for 16 miles, guarding and travel for 16 miles
  • Hot lunch for the participant with the option to include guests*
  • Half-day guided tour behind the scenes of the East Lancashire Railway
  • Photo opportunities
  • Commemorative certificate and complimentary ELRPS membership for 2020**

All experiences will finish at Bury Bolton Street Station at approximately 5:00pm.

2020 DATES

DATE PRICE BOOK NOW 
Friday 21 Feb  £449  Book Now
Friday 28 Feb £449 Book Now
Friday 20 Mar £449 Book Now
Friday 27 Mar £449 Book Now
Friday 24 Apr £449 Book Now
Monday 27 Apr £499 Book Now
Friday 15 May £499 Book Now
Monday 18 May £499 Book Now
Monday 1 Jun £499 Book Now
Mon 8 Jun £499 Book Now
Friday 19 Jun £499 Book Now
Monday 22 Jun £499 Book Now
Friday 10 Jul £499 Book Now
Friday 17 Jul £499 Book Now
Monday 10 Aug £499 Book Now
Monday 24 Aug £499 Book Now
Monday 14 Sep  £499 Book Now
Friday 25 Sep £499 Book Now
Monday 28 Sep £499 Book Now
Monday 5 Oct £499 Book Now 
Friday 16 Oct £499 Book Now 

* Two guests allowed per participant. Extra charge of £10.00 per lunch and £5.00 per person for a guided tour.

** The cut off point for complimentary East Lancashire Railway memberships is October 2020. Memberships registered after this point will expire December 2021.Memberships are registered from the date of participation, not the date of booking.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION AND GETTING HERE

Each experiences begins at 8:30am on Platform 2 of Bolton Street Station. The booking office is open from 10am – 4pm and a hot lunch will be provided on the day. The Trackside will be open 12pm - 11am (Mondays) and 12pm – 12am (Fridays) if participants would like to visit after their experience (participants are not permitted to drink alcohol during the experience).For information on how to find Bury Bolton Street Station, as well as a helpful guide to local transportation links and parking spaces, please visit our Getting Here page.

Notices and promotions

Find out First

Want the latest news hot from the firebox? Sign up to receive our regular e-newsletter and keep up-to-date with news, offers and events.
Visit England - Quality Assured Visitor Attraction Greater Manchester's Transport Heritage East Lancashire Railway Preservation Society Pennine Telecom The Queen's Award for Voluntary Service
© The East Lancashire Railway 2014 - 2020. All rights reserved.
The East Lancashire Light Railway Company Limited registered in England and Wales. Registered office: Bolton Street Station, Bolton Street, Bury, Lancashire, BL9 0EY Registered number: 02023981